Brand Loyalty

09/20/2013 13:21

Have you ever thought about what brands you are loyal too and why?  Whether it is a cost factor, quality level, or simply hype and popularity, we are all loyal to a brand of some sort. 

 

I am very loyal to the HIlton line of hotels and on a business trip this week, I achieved their highest honor of Diamond within their loyalty club.  They held an amazing party in my honor that night in my suite .... just kidding, but they do take care of their Diamond members with perks here and there.  Regardless of what they do, I still like the brand and know that their hotels are always clean and comfy with the best service possible.

 

Car brands are another item that we seem to be loyal too around here.  I am a huge fan of the Chevrolet Tahoe and Corvette.  Two models that come from a well respected brand.  While yes they have produced a lemon or two, I tend to stick to what I am familiar with and accustomed too.  Stephanie is a huge BMW fan who has had her fair share, however this year we (she) welcomed Audi into the stable which we have recognized as another quality brand that she has quickly become a huge fan of. 

 

In the fast food world, it seems that we are slave to Chick Fila, Starbucks, Panera, and Dunkin Donuts coffee.  All well respected brands that meet our needs and tend to be very consistent from store to store. 

 

Ironman is a brand with a very recognizable logo.  I have found that since the inception of this journey to the finishline that I am on, I have been in awe of the iconic logo of the World Triathlon Corporation's Ironman brand.  Like the BMW crest or the Rolex crown, this M with the Dot carries millions of stories, ideas, and thoughts.  While I would never dream of putting a corporate logo on my body, I have to tell you that I will be making an exception this time and will proudly wear the IM logo tattooed on my right calf as a symbol of my accomplishment.  While naysayers will say that this is the same as putting the Chevy bow time on my body, I have to argue that its different.  Anyone can go buy a car or truck, but only a few will achieve and earn this tattoo through blood, sweat, and tears.

 

Speaking of brands, we will be boarding the Carnival Breeze this weekend.  I plan to complete all of the prescribed workouts on the ship and in port while we are away and hope not to indulge too bad on the vast amounts of food!  And even though we are Platinum cruisers with this brand, I won't get their famous red, white, and blue funnel stack inked on my body ....

 

The artist rendering of my Ironman Tattoo